A Reply to Ben Stone on voting

I have always liked Ben Stone (aka The Bad Quaker), and have enjoyed many of his “tweets” on the social networking platform Twitter. Today I write because of some disagreements we have over the latest election cycle.

Ben tweeted often that for any of us to vote at all was immoral and enabled the political system, and so was committing aggression against people like him. At least that is the gist of what I got from his tweets. I know that I have often claimed myself that to vote for president was to choose the lesser of two evils and to legitimize the system.

But is voting in our system immoral on its face?  I think not. I think it depends on the reason. For example, I had not voted since 1980 but chose to vote against Hillary Clinton for anti-war reasons. I sincerely judged her as a great threat to world peace. In fact, I judged her as likely to start WW3 by pushing Russia into war, and possibly China as well. That, my friends, would lead to a full scale nuclear exchange.

Many young people that I talk to don’t seem to understand the total horror of a full scale nuclear exchange and the possibility that is could be an extinction level event. If humanity is to ever grow up and learn to live in peace, we will have to avoid nuclear war. Like it or not, there is no way around that requirement for our survival.

I did not vote to have the state give me something at the expense of Ben and others, but I voted to keep the world alive to give us time to defeat the American Empire and to move toward peace. How can we move toward peace? I judge that reducing the scope and power of the state is the path towards peace, prosperity, and happiness.

I thought of a situation that makes the argument very plain. If there was a vote in Florida to lock up everyone named Mark, I would certainly vote against that no matter what other preventive measures I might take. Voting in self-defense to keep the government from committing aggression against you is not immoral. The non-aggression principle does not say we can not fight back after we have been aggressed against — and the State has certainly aggressed against all of us.

Mind you, I have no idea what Trump is going to do and as a non-voter simply look on elections from a self-defense position. I do admire the fuck you aspect of the Trump vote and know he is doing something right because both sides of the illusory aisle are terrified and filling their pants in horror at the prospect of his triumphant ascension to the throne and the ring of power. ~ Bill Buppert

The self-defense part of this last election was the part each of us had to deal with on a personal basis. I chose to vote against the evil of the Clinton crime family and the warmongering bitch that was running for president.

“No one can find a safe way out for himself if society is sweeping towards destruction. Therefore everyone, in his own interests, must thrust himself vigorously into the intellectual battle. None can stand aside with unconcern; the interests of everyone hang on the result. Whether he chooses or not, every man is drawn into the great historical struggle, the decisive battle into which our epoch has plunged us.”
Ludwig von Mises

The intellectual war to convince the propagandized masses that we must end the State is going to take time. Mises was right that we all have to join in the battle and can not leave it to someone else. Ron Paul did great work in changing the minds of many young people and converting them to libertarianism. But he can not do it alone and all of us must get in the battle against the state. For this we need to keep a warmongering idiot like Clinton away from the control of the Empire’s forces — because she would risk nuclear war.

I told Ben that just not voting is not a strategy that will lead to anarchy and that we needed a workable strategy. He replied that I should read his book. I have made it about half way though and find much to like and some things I don’t agree with. I’ll do a review of the book after I have finished it. For now, you can find it here.

There were a couple of other points of disagreement and I will get to those in a separate post, as I want to keep this post simply about the morality of voting. Please note, I am saying nothing about how effective that vote might be. I am saying that voting in self-defense is moral and is not aggression against others.

As a last thought, I would like to say that I agree with the enlightened rogue when he wrote:

If you take the time to study just what went on during the crafting of the US Constitution, you may come to this conclusion: Many of  America’s “Founding Fathers” were “fathers” the same way a rapist is a “father.”

The present US Empire’s government is immoral, dangerous, and an enemy to the people. The constitution is worse than useless, it was written to consolidate power in the central government. It will lake time to build a broad consensus that we need to dismantle the present evil we call the US government.

I am fairly certain that I will go another 46 years before I vote again as most election cycles we see one warmonger vs. another warmonger. This time I judged on candidate as totally insane.

 

maxresdefault

Leave a Reply

